This page serves as a resource for members of the Williamsburg-James City County community so all can understand the importance of our strategic plan of this and how they can help ensure its goals become reality.

So where does WJCC Schools stand now on the development of its five-year strategic plan (2018-2023)?

On June 19 six areas of concentration with an accompanying goal statement were presented to the School Board for consideration. Those areas of concentration were accompanied by a goal statement intended to be future-focused, yet achievable.

On July 10, the School Board approved the six areas of concentration and goal statements for the new strategic plan. The goals, along with supporting strategies and actions steps, will serve as a blueprint for the work of the division through 2023. You will note that the goal statements clearly set high expectations while also capturing community input and aspirations for WJCC students and staff.

Hover or tap over each phase below to view details:


Phase 1

Advanced Planning
Pre-Site Visit


Phase 2

Planning & Communication
Onsite Visit 1

April 10-12

Phase 3

Engagement / Information Gathering & Synthesis
Onsite Visit 2

May 9-10

Phase 4

Plan Formation
Onsite Visit 3


Phase 5

Finalization & Communication the Plan

Extended Leadership Team

Olwen E. Herron, Ed.D.

Corey J. Murphy, Ph.D.
Chief of Staff

Cathy Worley, Ph.D.
Assistant Superintendent for Secondary School Leadership

Scott Thorpe
Assistant Superintendent for Elementary School Leadership

Monique Barnes
Chief Financial Officer

Jon Andre
Director of Employee Relations

Tim Baker
Senior Director of Talent Management & Organizational Development

Stacia Barreau, Ed.D.
Director of Special Education

Stephanie Bourgeois
Senior Director for Student Services

Patti Bowen
Supervisor for Instructional Technology, Innovation, and Information Literacy

Valerie DiPaola
Senior Director for Curriculum & Instruction

Rene Ewing
Former Comptroller

James Falzone
Supervisor of Facilities and Capital Improvement Projects

Janice Fowler
Supervisor of Health Services

Emily Haywood
Director of Employment

Brian Landers
Senior Director of Technology

Anne Neve
Supervisor of Student Intervention

Christina Simpson
Former Director of Transportation

Marcellus Snipes
Senior Director for Operations

Karen Swann
Laurel Lane Elementary School Principal

Jeffrey Carroll, Ph.D.
Warhill High School Principal

Core Planning Team

Marvin Collins*
Former City Manager, Williamsburg

Jessica Ellison, Ph.D.
Principal, Lois Hornsby Middle School

Robin Ford*
Principal, Matthew Whaley Elementary School

Jeffrey Carroll, Ph.D.*
Principal, Warhill High School

Cheri Green*
Vice President, Old Point National Bank
Board of Directors, Greater Williamsburg Chamber & Tourism Alliance

Rev. William “Bill” Harmon*
Senior Pastor, King of Glory Lutheran Church & School

Mark Hofer, Ph.D.*
Professor and Co-Director, Center for Innovation in Learning Design, College of William & Mary, School of Education

Kimberley Hundley*
President, Williamsburg James City Education Association, Teacher, Stonehouse Elementary School

Denise Johnson, Ed.D.
Professor and Associate Dean of Teacher Education & Community Engagement, College of William & Mary, School of Education

Gregg McLeod, Ph.D.*
Provost & Interim Dean of Health Professions, Thomas Nelson Community College

Joe Poole III
Director of Special Gifts/Development, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

Jason Purse
Assistant County Administrator, James City County

Jorge Rivas*
Administrator, Community & Medical Interpretation Services, Child Development Resources

Kathryn Sipes*
Assistant Director, James City County Office of Economic Development, President, Matthew Whaley Elementary School Parent Teacher Association 

Brian Smalls, ESQ*
Branch President, York-James City-Williamsburg National Association For The Advancement Of Colored People

Jim Stevenson*
Director of Operations, Printpack, Inc. 

Shari Vandygriff
Co-Chair of WJCC Teacher Forum Leadership Council, English Teacher, Berkeley Middle School

Jacqueline Bridgeforth-Williams
President & Founder, The Village

Mychael Willon*
President, WJCC Parent Teacher Association Council 

Clarence Wilson
Chair, WJCC Schools Foundation

Jeanne Zeidler
President & CEO, Williamsburg Health Foundation, Chairman of the Board, Greater Williamsburg Chamber & Tourism Alliance

*Denotes parents of current students in WJCC Schools

WJCC Schools Leadership

Olwen E. Herron, Ed.D.
Superintendent, WJCC Schools

Scott Thorpe
Assistant Superintendent for Elementary School Leadership

Corey J. Murphy, Ph.D.
Chief of Staff, WJCC Schools