Stacia Barreau, Ed.D.

Director of Special Education

p: (757) 603-6499
e: stacia.barreau@wjccschools.org

Kathleen Velez
Lead Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6498
e: kathleen.velez@wjccschools.org

Courtney Fuller
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6445
e: courtney.fuller@wjccschools.org

Peter Grabowski
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6501
e: peter.grabowski@wjccschools.org

Renee Savedge
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6444
e: renee.savedge@wjccschools.org

Jill Sargent
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6459
e: jill.sargent@wjccschools.org

Zebrina Taylor
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6496
e: zebrina.taylor@wjccschools.org

Shannon Williams
Instructional Specialist-Assistive Technology
p: (757) 603-6446
e: shannon.williams@wjccschools.org

Tonya Gokita
Transition Specialist
p: (757) 603-6563
e: tonya.gokita@wjccschools.org

Pamela Keys
Senior Administrative Assistant
p: (757) 603-6499
e: pamela.keys@wjccschools.org

The Department of Special Education for the Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools serves students with disabilities, ages 2-21, who are found eligible for special education and related services by a multidisciplinary team.

For information regarding disability categories, and other resources related to special education, please visit:
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/special_ed/disabilities/index.shtml

Services for identified students are provided in the least restrictive environment in a manner consistent with all applicable federal and state regulations.

Students receive a variety of services determined by their specific needs.  Services include consultation, resource (pull-out), collaborative, self-contained, day treatment and residential.  Parental involvement is important and solicited throughout the evaluation and planning process of each student’s individual program.  Upon successful completion of a prescribed program, students will earn a diploma (advanced, standard, modified standard, IEP) or a certificate of completion.  Satisfactory completion of vocational training competencies and obtaining maximum independence in the community as a productive and contributing member of society are goals for each student.

Alternative Assessment

The following documents explain the criteria for student participation in any of the following Virginia State Alternative Assessments:

Assistive Technology

Assistive Technology Device: ‘any item, piece of equipment, or product system, whether acquired commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized, that is used to increase, maintain, or improve the functional capabilities of a child with a disability.” (34 CFR § 330.5)

Assistive Technology Service: “any service that directly assists a child with a disability in the selection, any service that directly assists a child with a disability in the selection, acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device.” (34 CFR § 300.5)

Transition

Transition Services are meant to be a coordinated set of activities that is results oriented and facilitates movement from school to post-school activities.

Learn more »

Parent Resource Center

The Center encourages parent participation in the educational decision making process and provides seminars, training programs, and information to foster the parent/professional partnership.

Learn more »

Special Education Advisory Committee

Addresses issues important to special education services in the community, is appointed by the School Board, and is a collaboration between parents, administrators, teachers and the School Board.

Learn more »