Special Education

Stacia Barreau, Ed.D.

Director of Special Education

p: (757) 603-6499
e: stacia.barreau@wjccschools.org

Jayme Phillips
Senior Administrative Assistant
p: (757) 603-6499
e: Jayme.Phillips@wjccschools.org

Kathleen Velez
Lead Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6498
e: kathleen.velez@wjccschools.org

Courtney Fuller
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6445
e: courtney.fuller@wjccschools.org

Peter Grabowski
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6501
e: peter.grabowski@wjccschools.org

Jill Sargent
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6459
e: jill.sargent@wjccschools.org

Holly Sheffield
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6444
e: holly.sheffield@wjccschools.org

Zebrina Taylor
Instructional Specialist
p: (757) 603-6496
e: zebrina.taylor@wjccschools.org

Shannon Williams
Assistive Technology Specialist
p: (757) 603-6446
e: shannon.williams@wjccschools.org

Tonya Gokita
Transition Specialist
p: (757) 603-6563
e: tonya.gokita@wjccschools.org

Johnnie Underwood
Behavior Specialist
p: (757) 784-6684
e: johnnie.underwood@wjccschools.org

What We Do

The Department of Special Education for the Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools serves students with disabilities, ages 2-21, who are found eligible for special education and related services by a multidisciplinary team. Services for identified students are provided in the least restrictive environment in a manner consistent with all applicable federal and state regulations.

Students receive a variety of services determined by their specific needs. Services include consultation, support, and direct instruction in a variety of learning environments. Parental involvement is an essential component during the evaluation process and development of each student’s Individualized Educational Program (IEP).  Upon successful completion of a prescribed program, students will earn a diploma (advanced, standard, applied studies) or a certificate of completion.

We provide hands-on support to help all students grow

Helping tree made out of colorful hand prints

IEP Development

WJCC is committed to working collaboratively with families in developing an Individualized Educational Program (IEP) that provides children with a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE).

Section 504

WJCC provides a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) to each qualified student with a disability. Section 504 is a federal law designed to protect the rights of these individuals.

Translate »