Entries by Kathryn DeGroft

New Arrivals!

Draw, doodle, make, and have fun! There are no mistakes in this wild and wonderful world from doodle artist and illustrator Jon Burgerman. Packed with prompts for 101 unexpected art projects, It’s Great to Create offers artists of all ages loads of fun ways to get inspired and kick-start the creative process. From drawing with your eyes […]

New Arrivals!

New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld delivers a “stunning sci-fi spectacle” (A.V. Club) with his original graphic novel series, Spill Zone. A mysterious event destroyed the small city of Poughkeepsie, forever changing reality within its borders, and claimed the lives of Addison’s parents. Desperate to provide for her mute sister, Addison wanders the zone confronting […]

New Arrivals!

A story of valor and the making of a hero—Florent Groberg, who grew up in France, emigrated to the US, and was the first immigrant in forty years to receive the Congressional Medal of Honor after he saved many lives by tackling a suicide bomber in Afghanistan. Florent “Flo” Groberg was born in 1983, in […]

New Arrivals!

New York Times bestselling author Roxane Gay has written with intimacy and sensitivity about food and bodies, using her own emotional and psychological struggles as a means of exploring our shared anxieties over pleasure, consumption, appearance, and health. As a woman who describes her own body as “wildly undisciplined,” Roxane understands the tension between desire and […]

New Arrivals!

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap. Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn’t been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year. Her lack […]

New Arrivals!

Serial only told part of the story… In early 2000, Adnan Syed was convicted and sentenced to life plus thirty years for the murder of his ex-girlfriend Hae Min Lee, a high school senior in Baltimore, Maryland. Syed has maintained his innocence, and Rabia Chaudry, a family friend, has always believed him. By 2013, after almost […]

New Arrivals

The sizzling, un-put-downable sequel to the New York Times bestselling Rebel of the Sands, by the Goodreads Choice Awards Best Debut Author of 2016! Mere months ago, gunslinger Amani Al-Hiza fled her dead-end hometown on the back of a mythical horse with the mysterious foreigner Jin, seeking only her own freedom. Now she’s fighting to liberate the entire desert nation […]

New Arrivals

How does deception factor into fighting wars, and is it effective? In an intriguing companion to The Dark Game, Paul B. Janeczko reveals the truth about the strategic lies of war. The biblical account of Gideon. The ancient story of the Trojan horse. Deceptive techniques have been used in war through the ages. But while the principles […]

New Arrivals!

A space-obsessed boy and his dog, Carl Sagan, take a journey toward family, love, hope, and awe in this funny and moving novel for fans of Counting by 7s, Walk Two Moons, and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.   11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his brother, and his dog Carl Sagan—named […]