Entries by April Knowles

New Arrivals!

A story of valor and the making of a hero—Florent Groberg, who grew up in France, emigrated to the US, and was the first immigrant in forty years to receive the Congressional Medal of Honor after he saved many lives by tackling a suicide bomber in Afghanistan. Florent “Flo” Groberg was born in 1983, in […]

New Arrivals!

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap. Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn’t been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year. Her lack […]

New Arrivals!

Serial only told part of the story… In early 2000, Adnan Syed was convicted and sentenced to life plus thirty years for the murder of his ex-girlfriend Hae Min Lee, a high school senior in Baltimore, Maryland. Syed has maintained his innocence, and Rabia Chaudry, a family friend, has always believed him. By 2013, after almost […]

Abby Polansky honored as one of 8 district finalists

Abigail Polansky was honored as one of 8 district finalists in the “Take Action Against Distraction” License Plate Design Contest. Special thanks to Senator Mason, Delegate Pogge,  Georjeane Blumling of AAA Tidewater, and Virginia DMV Commissioner for attending and recognizing Abby’s efforts.

JHS Theater represents VA at the SETC High School Festial

Members of the Jamestown Theatre program took their original one act play to the South Eastern Theatre Conference to represent the state of Virginia at the SETC High School Theatre Festival. They participated in workshops, presentations, and auditions as well. Ben Paulk was named a part of the All Star Cast and Jack Cherry was […]

5 JHS Students Selected for All-Virginia Chorus

All-state Choir Five Jamestown students were selected, by audition, to perform at All-Virginia Chorus as delegates. One student was selected as an alternate. From left to right: Luke Stedelbauer, Morgan Long, Spencer Cottle, Sarah Chartier, Kayla Toliver, and Benjamin Helbert.  Congratulations to these talented students!