Keeping Matoaka GREAT!

Ever wonder who keeps Matoaka looking so good? Meet our amazing duo. Thanks a Million Soup and Charles!!!!

Meet Our New Matoaka Teachers!


Top Row: Leigh Ann Joerger, Amanda Lacombe, Emma Newman, Casey Bailey
Bottom Row: Ashlie Shellenberger

This year you will see some familiar and NEW faces! We have a very fun and dedicated group of educators who will be working with our students. Be sure to say “HI!” when you see them around.

In addition, Kate Nichols joins our 2nd grade team but was too busy working to join the group picture but we still got one from her Facebook pages. Welcome Kate!

Matoaka Open House 2018

Parents, teachers, and students were excited to meet each other at Open House 2018. PTA merchandise was a huge success, too!

Follow Us on Twitter!

Need Bus Stop Info?



If you need additional assistance, call the transportation department at (757) 565-0808 (Option #2).

Open House 2018

Summer Reading Program

Matoaka teachers and students met to work on reading skills together at Lafayette Square throughout July. Students also combined physical activities with reading using School Health Initiative Program (SHIP) activities.

Matoaka Elementary School Recognized as National PTA School of Excellence

Matoaka Elementary School was recently recognized as a National PTA Schools of Excellence. This national recognition program supports and celebrates partnerships between PTAs and schools that enrich the educational experience and overall well-being for all students.

The 2018-2020 Schools of Excellence are designated for a two-year period. Honorees receive automatic consideration for the Phoebe Apperson Hearst Award of $2,000 for their schools. After two years, schools are able to renew their designation. Matoaka’s PTA has received the award since 2014 and continues to demonstrate the strong partnership between parents, community, teachers, and students.

This year, Matoaka was one of the twenty-three Virginia K12 schools recognized with the honor. Virginia has over 2,100 public K12 schools.