2018-2019 Toano Middle School Student Clubs and Organizations

Club or OrganizationAbout…
National Junior Honor Society (NJHS)
>>>Sponsor: KayDee.Kline@wjccschools.org
The purpose of the this organization is to create an enthusiasm for superior scholarship, to develop citizenship, to stimulate a desire to serve, to promote leadership, and to install exemplary qualities of character. Membership is determined through a selection process from an annual application process. Link here for organization objectives and a calendar of events and meetings: 2018-2019 NJHS Events and Schedule

https://wjccschools.org/tms/wp-content/uploads/sites/5/2018/09/2017-8-NJHS-calendar-dates.pdf

SHIP CLUBS:
Run Club
>>>Sponsored by: Adam.Matheson.wjccschools.org
Ninja Warrior Club
>>>Sponsored by: Ronald. Trainum@wjccschools.org and Tammy.Newman@wjccschools.org
Kickball
>>>Sponsored by: Michelle.Dana@wjccschools.org and Lisa.Brodowski@wjccschools.org
Garden Club
>>>Sponsored by: Kathryn.Chall@wjccschools.org
SHIP Clubs are physically active clubs that meet at various points in the school year. Students should listen to morning announcements for information on when clubs begin, the application process and dress requirements. The coordinator for the school is Lisa.Brodowski@wjccschools.org.
Aviation Club
>>>Sponsor: Thomas.Hendrickson@wjccschools.org
The purpose of the Toano Middle School Aviation Club is to introduce students to various concepts of flight and to start preparing students who are interested in careers in aviation, maintenance, or engineering. This club is open to all students, and there is a cap of 12 students. The club meets once a week for the entire school year beginning in October.
Hart Beats
>>>Sponsor: Valerie.Hart@wjccschools.org
Hart Beats is a Jazz/A cappella choir that provides music students with an additional music participation outside the typical classroom setting and repertoire . Membership requirements: you must be in 7th or 8th grade and enrolled in a full time curriculum ensemble. The club is capped at 25 students. Open to choir students first, then band and orchestra. Must like to sing, move, and be willing to adjust to voicing requirements within the ensemble. There are minimum rehearsal requirements and students must commit to both concert performances as well as community performances and festival in the spring. First semester schedules are available from Mrs. Hart in room 100.
Battle of the Books Team
>>>Sponsor: Terri.Seward@wjccschools.org
Six students are selected from practices to represent Toano in a quiz-bowl style competition against area middle schools. Selected students love reading–but must have the ability to instantly recall details about 12 novels selected yearly by the public libraries. Interested students should show they can read and recall book details in book talks with the school librarian from September to early December. Select students begin to meet in December and practice weekly for March competitions.
ARK Ambassadors
>>>Sponsor: Valerie.Landers@wjccschools.org
Celebrates diversity and cultivate kindness at TMS. Students complete a short application form, which includes teacher recommendations.Members are selected from among the applicants.Club meets once a monthl from October to May
Robotics Team
>>>Sponsor: Melissa.Chai@wjccschools.org
The purpose of this team is to build and operate robots and to explore concepts in robotics. The Tiger Robotics Team consists of 7 members who are taking technology class at TMS. The goal of the team is to represent the school in a robotics competition. Having the ability to attend Saturday competitions is required of team members. Meeting dates ares every Tuesday and Thursday from September through November and twice a month January through May.
Student Council Association (SCA)
>>>Sponsor: Scott.Bowser@wjccschools.org
The Toano Student Council Association works to increase school pride and spirit. It is open to all students. The SCA meets the first Thursday of each month from 2:30 to 4:30 pm.in 401
Griffin Afterschool Partnerships (GAP)
>>>Sponsor: Kendall.Pace@wjccschools.org
This is a tutoring and mentorship program developed through the College of William and Mary. College students volunteer to come to Toano two days a week to help students with their homework and other assignments, as well as, provide structured activities after school and on the weekends.

Fall and spring applications are accepted for GAP partnerships and are available starting in late September. GAP acceptance is dependent upon the number of volunteer tutors coming to TMS. Spots are given on a first-come first-served basis twice a school year. Announcements will be made once applications become available.

GAP will meet Mondays and Wednesdays from October through December, and then again Mondays and Wednesdays February through April.

Yearbook Club
>>>Sponsor: Cynthia.Icenhour@wjccschools.org
The Yearbook Club meets in the 2nd and 3rd quarter of the school year to assist the yearbook sponsor in developing the TMS Yearbook. Membership is open to any student is passing in all classes at TMS.
Builder’s Club
>>>Sponsor: Lisa.Brodowski@wjccschools.org
Middle school division of the national community service organization, The Kiwanis Club. Builder’s Club is open to any service-minded student willing to assist in a variety of school and community volunteer service and kindness projects.
Word Master Club
>>>Sponsor: Jennifer.Svadeba@wjccschools.org
The Word Master Club works to building spelling and vocabulary of its membership culminating in spelling bee competitions at the school and local level.
Bridge Club
>>>Sponsor: Anne.Mapp@wjccschools.org
This club teaches students the strategic and team building benefits of playing bridge. No prior knowledge is needed to be a club member. You will be taught how to play as you attend meetings.
Art Club
>>>Sponsor: John.Peters@wjccschools.org
Love to feed your creative talents beyond the school day? The Art Club is for you. A variety of art activities and techniques are developed in meetings while promoting community art appreciation.