In the event of a radiological emergency at Surry Nuclear Power Plant requiring the evacuation of schools within the 10mile zone of the power plant, the following actions will be taken to ensure the safety of students and staff.

At the order of James City County and the Williamsburg Emergency Services Directors, the School Division will evacuate students as follows:

Students and Staff at: (Sending School)Transported to: (Receiving School)Transport to: Evacuation Assembly Center (EAC)
Clara Byrd Baker Elementary SchoolD.J. Montague Elementary SchoolWarhill High School
D.J. Montague Elementary SchoolRemains at D.J. Montague Elementary SchoolWarhill High School
James River Elementary SchoolToano Middle SchoolWarhill High School
Matthew Whaley Elementary SchoolNorge Elementary SchoolNew Kent High School
Norge Elementary SchoolRemains at Norge Elementary SchoolWarhill High School
Laurel Lane Elementary SchoolStonehouse Elementary SchoolWarhill High School
Stonehouse Elementary SchoolRemains at Stonehouse Elementary SchoolWarhill High School
Berkeley Middle SchoolLois S. Hornsby Middle SchoolNew Kent High School
James Blair Middle School/Central OfficeWarhill High SchoolNew Kent High School
Toano Middle SchoolRemains at Toano Middle SchoolWarhill High School
Jamestown High SchoolLafayette High SchoolWarhill High School
Lafayette High SchoolRemains at Lafayette High SchoolWarhill High School
Warhill High SchoolRemains at Warhill High SchoolWarhill High School
Matoaka Elementary SchoolJ. Blaine Blayton Elementary SchoolWarhill High School
J. Blaine Blayton Elementary SchoolRemains at J. Blaine Blayton Elementary SchoolWarhill High School
Lois S. Hornsby Middle SchoolRemains at Lois S. Hornsby Middle SchoolWarhill High School

This plan is closely coordinated with the City and County Emergency Services Directors.

Students from schools being evacuated will not be released to their parent(s)/guardian(s) until they arrive at one of the eight receiving schools.

Students who attend D. J. Montague, Toano, L.S. Hornsby, J.B. Blayton, Stonehouse, Norge, Warhill and Lafayette and live outside the 10mile zone will be bused home once the evacuation is complete.  Students who attend one of these eight schools and live within the 10mile zone, will need to be picked up by a parent or guardian.

Students who are not picked up by their parent(s)/guardian(s) at the receiving school will be sheltered at the appropriate EAC (Evacuation Assembly Center).

Effective January 2022 all schools EAC will be located at Warhill High School

Thank you for your assistance and support.

Brian Weaver, Supervisor for Security and Building Services